nationalsecuritylaw update on the future of this listserv

Hi folks,

As you probably have noticed (especially those of you who have been on this list going back a full decade), I’ve been struggling for some time with the question of whether to continue to keep this listserv operational. The original goal was to provide a way to stay on top of the endless stream of developments in the national security law field, at a time when there were no websites like Lawfare and Just Security to perform that function. Well, now they do exist, and my assumption is that most of you read those sources in order to keep up with things. What, then, to do with the listserv?

I’ve decided I will keep it going, but with a somewhat narrower focus than in the past. In particular, I will focus (at least for a time) on the sort of posts that I’ve been sending out lately: those relating to criminal prosecution in terrorism-related cases. These arrests, convictions, sentences, and the like often go by with relatively little mainstream media attention, and do not always generate blog attention either. And so I’ll commit to continue to post briefly about them here. With this narrowing of focus, I do hope to make the list more active (goodness knows that current events are supplying ample content).

Note that I will no longer be in the business of flagging upcoming events or forthcoming/recent scholarship (two former mainstays of the list, both of which I’ve largely stopped posting already). That said, I hope you’ll forgive me if, on rare occasions, I succumb to the temptation to mention my own scholarship or events I’m hosting!

By the way, if you are wondering how many of you there are: 1,193 subscribers at this time.

Best,

Bobby

Robert Chesney (website)

Charles I. Francis Professor in Law and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs | The University of Texas School of Law

Director | The Robert S. Strauss Center for International Security and Law (website)

512.232.1298 | Twitter: @bobbychesney | Blog: www.lawfareblog.com | Scholarship: SSRN page

Leave a Reply

